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For rules questions not addressed in this document or the official Halo ActionClix CMG rulebook 
(http://www.wizkidsgames.com/uploadedFiles/Halo/Halo_Microsite/Downloads/Download_Items/Hal

o_ActionClix_Rules.pdf), please e-mail customerservice@wizkidsgames.com 
 

GENERAL 
 
Q: What is considered “adjacent?” 
A: Units are adjacent whenever they are in squares next to each other or diagonally next 
to each other. 
 
Q: Is there any way to stop my opponent from camping on my spawn points? 
A: If you are going second in a game, it is a good idea to separate your spawn points a bit 
so that the opponent can’t easily camp them early. Camping spawn points is an important 
strategy, especially if you are playing on smaller maps. Defend yours and take the 
opponent’s whenever you can. 
 
Q: If my spawn points are camped and I have fewer than three units on the map, do I lose 
actions? 
A: Yes. However, if you are able to clear one of your spawn points with one of your first 
actions, you can use the remainder of your three actions to bring in other units.  
 
Q: Can I swap a unit and then move that unit? 
A: No. You can only swap units that you do not give actions to for the turn. If you swap a 
unit while you still have actions remaining, it is not eligible to be given an action. The 
newly brought-in unit also can’t be swapped out for another unit during the same turn; it 
must wait until the next turn for another swap. This does not apply to upgrades; you can 
upgrade a unit at any time on your turn and it can be given an action if it has not already 
been given one. If the unit that is being upgraded was already given an action or 
swapped, the upgraded unit can’t be given an action or swapped. 
 
Q: Can I mix units from the different factions together? 
A: Yes. Though some events might restrict players to a single faction, the general rule is 
that you can combine units as you choose. 
 
Q: Can I upgrade or swap a unit to a different faction or different type of unit? 
A: Yes. Though some events might limit your ability to cross factions or unit types when 
upgrading, the standard game allows you to swap factions and unit types freely. We made 
this choice because we recognize that some players will buy only a limited amount of 
product, and we don’t want to penalize those players from enjoying the full game 
experience—a substantial part of which is upgrading and swapping units. Restricting how 
unit upgrading and swapping works would have taken away an important component of 
the game’s flexibility to accommodate all players. 



 
Q: Can we alter the rules for how many units, points, actions, maps, etc. are used in the 
game? 
A. Yes, at home you can customize games as you wish. Most official events, however, 
use the “standard game”: five or more units, up to 400 points, no units over 150 points in 
the starting force. Some events might indicate some special rules/formats that will be 
communicated before the event begins. 
 
Q: Do you have any recommended alternate formats? 
A: Yes, in fact; here are a few to try: 
 
Sealed: Each player gets two five-unit Boosters and plays with four units, up to 325 total 
points. Play with the standard four maps to four kills. 
 
Team: Two teams of two players each. Each player gets three units totaling up to 
(225/250) points. Each team shares (2/3) spawn points. Each player gets two actions per 
turn and plays to a team total of six kills. Players rotate turns as follows: Team A player 
1, Team B player 1, Team A player 2, Team B player 2. Repeat order. Play on (4/6) maps 
or on a large map setup. 
 
Capture the Flag: Play on a large map setup, such as 3 x 3. Each player takes (1/2/3) 
flag markers (each side has a different color) and places them on the board after spawn 
points are placed so that none are within 3 squares of a spawn point. As a move and shoot 
action, a figure (not a vehicle) can pick up or drop off a flag in your square or an adjacent 
square instead of shooting. (Put the flag either on the figure’s card or base.) If a figure 
carrying a flag is killed, the flag drops in the square the figure occupied. Figures upgrade 
as normal for kills but there is no kill total victory. The game ends when one player has 
all three of the opposing flags adjacent to his or her spawn points, either on the ground or 
carried by friendly figures. A figure can pick up any flag. Figures carrying flags get –1 
attack and defense and can’t shoot the turn they pick up a flag. 
 
Q: Can I post or share my scenarios, game variants, or maps on the WizKids forums? 
A: Yes, but realize that anything posted to the WizKids forums becomes the property of 
WizKids. In other words, if we later do a map, game variant, or scenario that resembles 
something that was posted on our forums, there can be no claims of ownership by the 
person who posted it. If you are comfortable with these forum rules and want to share 
your ideas, feel free to post them on the forum. 
 
Q: Should I buy four-figure Boosters or five-figure Boosters? 
A: The short answer is that if you put together a set using the five-figure Boosters, the set 
completion cost will be slightly lower than if you put together a set using the four-figure 
Boosters. The four-figure Booster, however, includes two micro dice that are not in the 
five-figure Booster. The same units and maps are available in both configurations. 
 

MAPS 
 



Q: How do I set up the maps? 
A: Each player brings two of the 10 x 10 maps to the table and places them side by side 
in front of where they sit. This forms a 20 x 20 square map. You can’t form an “L” or a 
line with the maps in a standard game. If the event has limitations due to table space, 
consult the organizer for instructions on how to set up the maps for the event. In some 
cases a smaller number of maps might be used or the maps might be folded to fit in the 
play area. 
 
Q: How many maps are there?  
A: There are eight different maps in the Boosters (one of the eight Booster maps is blank 
with no blocking terrain). There is a two-sided map in the Hunter Combat Pack, a two-
sided map in the Warthog Vehicle Pack, and two large maps and an Interior map in the 
Scarab Action Pack.  
 
Q: Can I alter the maps? 
A: For the standard game, you must use the maps from the Boosters as printed. For your 
own scenarios, you can add elements to the maps as you wish. 
 
Q: I am missing my map or maybe my dog ate it. What can I do? 
A: Files of all of the maps will be available on our website.  
 

GRENADES 
 
Q: Can I throw a grenade at a square to which I do not have a clear line of fire? 
A: No. 
 
Q: Does grenade damage go through walls? 
A: No. When a grenade hits a square, only adjacent squares with clear lines of fire to the 
targeted square take splash damage from the grenade.  
 
Q: Can a figure target its own square with a grenade? 
A: Yes, and the number to hit is 12. 
 
Q: Do I get new grenades when I swap out a unit with a grenade icon on the card? 
A: No, you get grenades only when you initially deploy a unit at the start of the game that 
has a grenade icon, or when you respawn a unit that has a grenade icon. If you lose a 100-
point unit with no grenade icon and choose to respawn a different 100-point unit that has 
a grenade icon, you will get a grenade with the new unit when it respawns at the spawn 
point. Basically any time you enter the board from a spawn point, you get a grenade 
token if the unit has the icon. Other than that, the only way to get grenades in the standard 
game is from a loot roll by camping an opponent’s spawn point.  
 
Q: Does a unit lose grenades when it swaps to a unit with an equal point value? 
A: Yes, so you should try to use up any grenades you have before you swap to another 
unit of equal point value. 
 



Q: What about upgrading to a unit with a grenade icon? Do I get a grenade then? 
A: No, you get to keep any grenades your unit has when you upgrade, but if the new unit 
has a grenade icon, you do not get another grenade when you upgrade.  
 
Q: When a grenade misses, does it hit another square or anything else? 
A: No.  
 
Q: What happens to unused grenades when my unit dies? 
A: They are lost. If the unit has a grenade icon and respawns, it will get one new grenade 
as above when it respawns. 
 

VEHICLES AND OBJECTS 
 
Q: How do I play vehicles in the standard game? 
A: The standard game allows only figures. If you are playing with vehicles, you are 
playing a scenario or an advanced game. In these games you can decide how many units 
and points you want to play with and how many kills you want to play the game to.  
 
Q: How do I play objects like the turret in the standard game? 
A: Objects are not used in the standard game. 
 
Q: How come there are no black lines on one side of the Warthog map? 
A: This is an error. The black lines should be around the edges of the buildings. We will 
be posting the maps on the website for anyone who wants to download the corrected 
version. 
 
Q: Can my figures ride on top of vehicles? 
A: No. 
 

SCARAB 
 
Q: The colors on the Event dial do not match the colors on the Event dial card. What’s 
up with that? 
A: Our apologies again. The lead time on these products is fairly long and by the time we 
caught the error it was too late to correct it. We will post a PDF of the new card on our 
website showing the correct colors, which are on the dial. 
 
Q: I am a little confused about how damage gets assigned to the Shell dial. Can you 
explain how it works? 
A: All damage done by figures to the Scarab from the exterior is applied to the Shell dial. 
For each attack that deals damage, turn the Shell dial the appropriate number of clicks. 
While the dial is being turned, each time the penetration symbol appears, the Scarab 
player must apply 1 (and only 1) damage to either the Chassis dial or the Main Power 
Core dial. If the dial lands on the penetration symbol after all damage from the attack has 
been applied to the Shell dial, 1 (and only 1) damage is applied to either the Chassis dial 
or the Main Power Core dial, but the attacking player chooses which. Either way, apply 



only 1 damage to the Chassis dial or Main Power Core dial per penetration symbol 
landed on or passed when the Shell dial is turned. 
 
Q: What do the kneeling and crippled symbols on the Chassis dial mean, and what 
happens if I damage the Chassis dial while one of those symbols is showing? 
A: You can’t damage the Chassis dial while the Scarab is kneeling or crippled. For 
example, if damage is being applied to the Shell dial and the penetration symbol is 
passed, the 1 damage can’t be assigned to the Chassis dial; it must instead be assigned to 
the Main Power Core. 
 
In addition, when the kneeling or crippled symbol appears on the Chassis dial, the 
Chassis dial is turned backwards once at the end of the attacker’s turn. The Scarab 
immediately stands up if the kneeling or crippled symbol no longer appears. 
 
Q: When does the Scarab player get actions for reinforcements? 
A: The rules currently state that reinforcements can be given actions only when the 
Scarab player has at least five reinforcements in play. But the Scarab player also gets the 
appropriate number of actions (as described in the Scarab rules) when either of the 
following two conditions is true: attacking figures enter the Scarab interior or the Main 
Power Core dial shows the Swarm special ability. After any one of these three conditions 
is met, the Scarab player has the actions to give to his or her reinforcements, even if the 
attacking player no longer has figures inside or if the number of reinforcements drops 
below five. 
 

SPECIFIC UNITS 
 
Q: If I roll doubles with MC Assault Rifle and hit, do I get another attack if I hit on the 
second attack with doubles as well? 
A: Yes, you keep going until you fail to hit with doubles. 
 
Q: Can I swap out the unit that I move with the Sergeant Johnson ability, since I did not 
technically give that unit an action? 
A: No. The unit was given an action as part of the special ability. It can’t swap out or be 
given an action if it is used with this ability. You also can’t use the ability on a unit that 
you swapped in during the turn. For example, if I swap out a Grunt for a Marine prior to 
giving an action to Sgt. Johnson, that Marine can’t be given an action from Sgt. 
Johnson’s special ability. 
 
Q: Can I use the Cortana ability to assign upgrade tokens from my Warthog to other 
units? 
A: No. Cortana’s ability is restricted to upgrade tokens on figures and can’t affect 
upgrade tokens on vehicles. 
 

ERRATA 
 
Error: Jackal Sniper #026 has Superior Targeting in its defense slot.  



Resolution: Superior Targeting should be in the attack slot instead. 
 
Error: Brute Jump Pack #066 has Move and Attack on its card back. This is not shown 
on the dial or front.  
Resolution: Brute Jump Pack does not have the Move and Attack ability. 
 
Error: Sesa ’Refumee #077 does not have Move and Attack on its card back, but it’s 
printed on its card front and dial. 
Resolution: Sesa ’Refumee has Move and Attack on positions 7 through 11 of the dial. 
The unit does not suffer the –3 attack penalty if it moves more than 4 squares when this 
ability is active. 
 
Error: Scarab Event dial 
Resolution: Use the Event dial PDF available at www.haloactionclix.com.  
 
Error: Warthog Map 
Resolution: Treat the map as if the black lines were present.  


